If you have symptoms of COVID-19, it’s important to get tested and isolate until you know your results.
If you have been in contact with someone who has COVID-19, get tested and stay home and away from others for 14 days.
If you go to a test site run by New York State, you will not be charged for your test.
If you go to a test site operated by local governments, private companies including pharmacies and medical practices or not-for-profit organizations, check with the testing site and your insurer to make sure there isn’t a fee for the test.
If you are uninsured, you are advised to ask the testing site if you will be responsible for any fees associated with your test. Under the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), the Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care Enhancement Act (PPPHCEA), and the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES), a testing site can receive reimbursement for fees associated with testing uninsured individuals.
Where Can I Be Tested?
Testing for COVID-19 is widely available throughout New York State.
Get information on coronavirus testing near you. Simply enter your address and find locations that provide coronavirus testing.
If You Test Positive
If you test positive for COVID-19, please tell your PRIMARY healthcare provider about your test result, if you went ELSEWHERE to be tested, so that they can help you get the right treatment.
Who Should I Notify?
The FIRST STEP is to figure out the time period during which you could have exposed others so you can notify anyone with whom you had close contact during that time. This helps limit the spread of disease. Fill out the NYS Contact Tracing Tool to help you identify contacts.
IF YOU HAVE COVID-19 SYMPTOMS – you were able to spread COVID-19 starting TWO DAYS BEFORE your first symptoms started. Notify the people you had close contact with during this time.
IF YOU HAVE NOT HAD SYMPTOMS – you were able to spread the disease starting TWO DAYS before your COVID-19 test was taken. Notify the people you had close contact with during this time.
Close contact is defined as any of the following interactions:
- Having direct physical contact with someone. (e.g. hug, kiss, handshake)
- Being within 6 feet of someone for 10 minutes total in a day.
- Having contact with your respiratory secretions. (e.g. coughed/sneezed on, contact with dirty tissue, sharing a drinking glass, food, towels, or other personal items)
- Living with or spent the night with someone.
What do I tell my close contacts?
If your close contacts are not vaccinated and have not recovered from COVID-19 in the past 3 months, they must quarantine in their home for 10 days from their last contact with you. In addition, they should continue to monitor themselves for any signs or symptoms of COVID-19 until the 14th day after their last contact with you. Testing is not required to end quarantine.
Asymptomatic close contacts who are fully vaccinated or have recovered in the last 3 months from laboratory confirmed COVID-19 do not need to quarantine. Any close contacts who are fully vaccinated or recently recovered from COVID-19 who are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 should isolate themselves at home and contact their healthcare provider immediately.
Let your contact know that they may receive a call from Public Health to ask questions and offer additional information. Please ask your contact to answer the phone call from “NYS Contact Tracing” (518-387-9993). It is confidential and private.
If your contact has additional questions, they can contact their health care provider, the local health department where they live or call the NYSDOH COVID-19 hotline at 1-888-364-3065.
The Executive Order permitting clinical laboratories holding a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Acts (CLIA) certificate to perform testing on specimens from NYS in the absence of a NYS clinical laboratory permit is discontinued as of Friday, June 25, 2021.
The Executive Order permitting clinical laboratory practitioners to perform testing in a clinical laboratory under remote supervision is discontinued as of Friday, June 25, 2021.
Although Executive Order 202.72 is expiring, Physician Office Laboratories (POL) performing COVID-19 testing in NYS must continue to adhere to reporting requirements mandated by the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services under CLIA regulation.
The Executive Order permitting licensed pharmacists to be designated as qualified healthcare professionals for the purpose of directing a limited service laboratory (LSL) that performs COVID-19, influenza virus and respiratory syncytial virus testing, has been discontinued effective June 25, 2021.
The Executive Order 202.1 permitting a clinical laboratory to operate temporary collection stations (also known as patient service centers or PSC) to collect specimens from individuals suspected of suffering from COVID-19 will be discontinued as of Friday, June 25, 2021.
Updated July 2, 2020. The NYS Department of Health continues to monitor the situation and work to expand COVID-19 diagnostic and serologic testing for New Yorkers. This updates the guidance issued on May 31, 2020.
Antigen tests are an important part of the COVID-19 public health emergency response strategy as these tests are relatively inexpensive and can be used at the point-of-care. The New York State Department of Health provides recommendations to support the effective use of antigen tests for different testing situations to ensure the most appropriate interpretation of antigen test results, which is important for accurate clinical and public health management.
May 13, 2021 - Frequently Asked Questions for Health Care Providers regarding SARS-oV-2 Point of Care Antigen tests.
Contact Tracers work with people who have tested positive for COVID-19 to identify people they have had contact with and let them know they may have been exposed to the disease.
May 14, 2020 - After being tested for COVID-19, use this form to help identify anyone you have had contact with.